Mayomi Adeboye Adekanye [INEC] Wins AAUASU Presidential Election for 2022/2023 session

The Electoral body of Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko [aaua] has declared Comrade Mayomi Adeboye Adekanye, [INEC] as the winner of 2022/2023 Students' Union Presidential Election.

Mayomi Adeboye Adekanye [INEC] Wins AAUASU Presidential Election for 2022/2023 session
Photo: Elected President of Adekunle Ajasin University, Comrade Adekanye Mayomi (INEC) | Image credit Facebook @adekanye mayomi

The Election which was held today witnessed a low turnout of Students orchestrated by the policy of "no payment no Election" introduced by the Management of Adekunle Ajasin University. According to the data obtained by Daily News Report from the Electoral Committee, Chaired by the Pure and Applied Psychology Lecturer - Prof. Olukayode Afolabi, the total number of valid Students eligible to vote is 1861, among 20,000 plus Students - these figures represent the total number of Students who had paid their Tuition fee for 2022/23 session.

Election Data of Adekunle Ajasin University:
  • Total number of Students: 20k plus
  • Registered Voters: 1,861
  • Accredited Voters: 760
  • Number of valid Vote cast: 759
Following the conclusion of the Election, Mayomi Adeboye Adekanye, politically known on campus as INEC - [Philosophy Department] pulled a total vote of 423 to emerge as the AAUASU President; while his opponent, Micheal Dotun Fakaisi, politically known as WOLI MIKE - [Mathematics Department] had 334 votes.  

Others include the Vice President-elect, Temitope Rotimi, politically known as Temmierose from the department of educational management and the only Female elected; she contested unopposed and had a total vote of 683.

For the Post of AAUASU General Secretary, Oluwatosin Isaac Ojo, politically known as Apostle, a 400-level student of Microbiology contested unopposed and had 657 votes.  

For the AAUASU Public relation officer, Ogundaisi Samuel Olatunbosun, popularly known as Peculiar Sam, a 300-level student of law won with 655 votes.

Also, Taiwo Abraham Damilare, known as Capacity, from the department of Guidance and Counselling, emerged as the Financial Secretary with 644 votes; while Joseph Adebowale Ajiki, popularly known as Debo from Business Administration Department, was elected as the Treasurer unopposed with 623 votes; Ariyo Adekunle Omole, a 500-level student of Fisheries & Aquaculture was also elected the Welfare Director, with 623 votes.  

For the AAUASU Social Director, this post was the most contested position, alongside the Presidency. 3 Aspirants contested for the Social Director; but Nwaji Uche Fidelis popularly known as Fidelis Truth from Economics department won with 317 votes, while Damilare Festus Iwamu, known as Dammylee from History and International Studies and Adewami Adebanji Joseph, known as Water Nation from Plant Science & Biotechnology had 314 and 138 votes, respectively. 

Daramola Oluwatobi Olamide, a 400-level student of Human Kinetics, popularly known as, Jagaban, had 641 votes and was elected the Sports director while Ojo Cosmos Olayemi popularly known as King Billz, a 300-level student of Sociology, emerged as the Assistant General Secretary, with 646 votes.  

While announcing the winners, Prof. Olukayode expressed his satisfaction, adding that the Election was free and fair.

Adekunle Ajasin University is a state-owned Institution located in Akungba-Akoko, Ondo State; South-West Nigeria. With the emergence of INEC, he will be taking over the affairs of the AAUA Students' Union from the outgoing President - Comrade Ogunsanmi Kolade. The tenure of union Leaders is valid for one session.

Related Post:
  • Why Francophone and Adekunle got screened out of AAUASU Election
  • AAUA Management Warns Students against indecent Dressing

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Please, share your comment with us.